Right Now

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

This morning I slept in a little. For me that means 6:30AM. As I made my way down the hall, I could hear faint noises coming from your room, Max and Kate. Then I heard a quiet little voice whispering. There was no mistaking that deep voice. When I walked in here’s what I found:

You were up playing quietly with your cars. When I asked what you were doing you whispered “I’m just sitting up here playing Daddy.” A few feet away the Queen Bee was still recharging:

And in the next room Sleeping Beauty was still getting her beauty rest:

It occurred to me this morning how lucky I am, as I lingered for a moment to watch each of you. How beautiful my life is. And how grateful I should be for everything I have. I believe everyone can be still for a moment and reflect on their blessings. It’s a great way to start the day.

Mommy and I have a huge responsibility to take care of you three, but something about providing a nice warm home for you to wake up and play in or to sleep peacefully in made me very grateful this morning.

(On the fear of missing out on things in life) “Let go of it, and realize you have everything right now.” – Leo Babauta

I love you,

– Daddy

Training: Big rest week

Mon: REST

Tues: Swam 1000 yards

Wed: Ran 30 minutes