Heard from the backseat: I want a pet!

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

A few nights ago we were driving through town you said something that made me laugh – and illustrated the differences in you kids. You’ve all been begging me for a pet for months. Specifically for a dog. For a variety of reasons I’ve been holding out. I just don’t think our family is ready to take on an animal. Life is crazy – and smelly – enough right now.

Izzy, you started the conversation from the 3rd row of the minivan: “Dad, my friend told me they have reptiles at PetSmart. Maybe we could go look at the reptiles.”

“Izzy, do you know what a reptile is?” I said.

“Yeah, of course I do. Like snakes and lizards and stuff.”

“No way,” I said. “We are NOT getting a reptile.”

“Why!?” you said.

“Because they’re gross! That’s why. No reptiles.”

“Oh yeah, sure! They’re gross, and slimy….and yeah, maybe a little vicious, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t get one,” you said.

Kate, you piped up at that point: “I want a kitty.”

She backed your opinion that we needed a pet, Izzy. “See Dad!? Kate wants a kitty. I’ll take a kitty. Please, can we get a kitty?”

“Nope,” I said. “No kitty.”

Izzy, you tried to bring Max in for reinforcements: “Max, what kind of pet do you want?”

As flat and emotionless as can be, you respond Max: “I want a tractor.”

That’s my boy. That we can do.

By the time you read this I’m sure we’ll have had lots of pets. I’m not heartless. I know it’s important for kids to have pets. But back when I wrote this we weren’t ready – at least I wasn’t.

I love you,

– Daddy

Training:

Mon: REST

Tues: Swam 2000 at 5am

Wed: Biked 1 hour at 5:20am

Thurs: Swam 2000 at 5am / scheduled to ride 1:20 tonight

* no running in the last 10 days. Still nursing a strained calf muscle