How to find the silver-lining

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I wrote to you a while back about injuring my calf muscle. I took 10 days off from running and really babied my leg – icing it, using the foam roller, stretching. In the meantime I focused on cycling and especially on my swimming.

This morning I laced up the shoes and went for my first run since the injury. I was cruising in my new Newtons. Once again, my leg felt great for the first mile and then the pain showed up. Out of the blue. And I was walking again. That’s the way life works sometimes. The same thoughts ran through my head that I had 10 days ago. Quit. Withdraw from the races you’re signed up for. What if I can’t get my long runs in before Rev3 Anderson? Why is this stuff happening to me? Now?

Just because I’ve been down that road before didn’t mean I was immune to the same emotional response. I rode the roller coaster. Then I quieted my mind and limped home. No more running until the Chattanooga Waterfront triathlon on July 8.

Since I wasn’t able to run this morning I went for a lunch time swim with my friend Bruce. We swam outside at a pool near our office. It was good for my soul to feel the sunshine of an outdoor lap pool mid-day. That wouldn’t have happened had I gotten in a real run this morning. And I wouldn’t have spent that time with my good friend and mentor Bruce.

Sunshine. Outdoor swims. Silver linings.

I’m icing my leg as I type though.  I’ll heel. And I’ll be faster for the rest.

Izzy, Mommy texted me the picture above today. (another silver lining moment) I stared at it for 5 minutes and wondered when my 8 year old daughter started to look more athletic than her daddy. I guess training 9 hours a week (Gymnastics plus swim team) will do that. You’re so good at both. And you don’t really care. You just love being in motion. I love that about you.

Love you all,

– Daddy

Training:

Mon: REST

Tues: Swam 2000

Wed: Biked 1:00 hour

Thurs: Swam 2000

Fri: failed run / Swam 1700

Sat: Planned 40 mile ride

Sun: Planned ride distance TBD

Stoked to welcome a new sponsor. Base Performance was started by professional triathlete Chris Lieto and his brother Paul to provide nutritional support for hard working athletes. Cool dudes and supportive of putting family first: