Lance Armstrong, Peppa Pig, and Envy

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

This morning I was greeted with questions at work. As soon as I walked in I was fielding questions about Lance. I guess that’s what you get when you have a big Lance poster on your desk.

Guilty or not guilty? Did you hear? Why would he do that if he’s not guilty? Why won’t they leave him alone?

I had no idea what they were talking about.

I wrote to you earlier this summer about Lance Armstrong, so I won’t rehash those same sentiments here. The truth is, I missed the news. I had no idea anything was happening in “Lance news”.

I fell asleep beside you kids in bed watching Peppa Pig. I woke up and turned on some music and then turned Peppa Pig back on.

It’s times like these that I’m glad I’m a parent and you 3 are the center of my world. The only thing that really matters to me is being a good example for my own kids. So, I missed the news that Lance was tired of fighting. I’m a little surprised that Lance is giving up, but I’m not in his shoes. I suppose it’s difficult carrying that weight. We’re all just men in the end.

My life goes on. Today I’ll run during lunch to celebrate my own health and the gifts I’ve been given. I’ll come home and probably take you kids to the park like every night. We’ll continue the debate about which dog to get.  And we’ll probably fall asleep watching one cartoon or another, while the news of the world goes on around us.

To be jealous is to want what someone else has. To envy is to not have something someone else has and therefore want them to not have it either.

I’ll let you decide which Lance Armstrong has fallen victim too.

I’m sorry for Lance, but the truth is, in my world, I’ll just be concerned with how many times I’ll end up watching Peppa and George learn about recycling this evening. I can’t pretend to understand anything else, neither justice nor injustice.

I suggest reading my post TELLING MY KIDS ABOUT LANCE ARMSTRONG if you want more of my opinion on the man. My opinion hasn’t changed.

I love you kids,

– Daddy