BASE Performance review

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

After 12 years of training and racing I’ve used a lot of products. In fact, that’s probably the most common question I get from new or aspiring runners and triathletes: “what supplements do you take?”

Over the years I’ve used a lot of stuff to find a legal competitive edge. But I never found a product that I couldn’t live without, so I resigned myself to using a simple multivitamin from the grocery store and saving my money on the other stuff.

Recently I was given the opportunity to try BASE Performance’s line of nutritional supplements. All I needed to know was that it was developed by professional triathlete Chris Lieto and a team of doctors he employed to help him stay healthy and competitive. Chris is a guy I respect as an athlete and a parent so I was willing to give it a shot.

BASE sent me their BASE Multivitamin, BASE Amino, BASE electrolyte salt, and BASE Recovery Activator. I’ve been using all of these products daily for the last two months.

BASE Multi Vitamin is a combination of vitamins and minerals designed to support the body’s normal defenses against free radical production created by training for and racing in endurance events. I started this product as soon as I opened the package from BASE. Sparing you all of the science, it’s essentially a super multi vitamin for people who are serious about filling the gaps in their whole food daily diet. I have lots of those. So, while BASE won’t erase the junk you eat it will provide you with many of the nutritional deficiencies that plague endurance athletes. I can definately tell when I miss a day of taking my multi vitamins. They provide me with a mental boost and an overall sense of well-being that’s hard to explain.

Here are the primary benefits as described by BASE.

Main Benefits:

  • Complete Antioxidant Protection
  • Promotes Healthy Blood Cells
  • Supports Optimal Tissue Structure and Function
  • Increased Energy
  • Protects Nervous System

I take 2 in the morning after my breakfast and 2 more when I get home from work.

BASE Amino is designed to be a performance enhancer. It’s a blend of free form amino acids that will improve muscle recovery, lean muscle mass, and overall athletic performance through improved oxygen carrying capacity.

I’ve used this product in a variety of ways: long humid runs in Florida while on vacation, long bikes in the Tennessee hills, and during my early morning training swims. I’m pleased with how BASE Amino performs in all of these capacities and it’s one of my go-to products for long training days.

Most often I use it during my early morning swim training and as a pre-ride/run strategy. I’ve found that using BASE Amino prior to workouts gives me more endurance throughout and allows me to finish strong instead of slowing down late in the workout. It can be mixed with water or your favorite carbohydrate beverage. Personal recommendation: mix BASE Amino fruit punch flavor with lemon-lime flavored sports drink. Yum!

Here’s what BASE says about BASE Amino:

Main Benefits:

  • Improved Performance
  • Enhanced Recovery
  • Increase or maintain lean muscle
  • Improved Blood Circulation
  • Aids muscle protein synthesis
  • Stabilized glycogen levels
  • Reduced fatigue
  • Aids in fat burning

BASE Recovery Activator is designed to help serious athletes recover faster from hard workouts, so that they are ready to train again the next day. It’s primary ingredient is L-glutamine, which enhances your immune system and your body’s ability to absorb glycogen. It’s also formulated with “Chinese botanicals”, which sounds sketchy, I know. However, those Chinese botanicals are simple chinese herbs which help promote healthy GI tract function. One of the key components of a healthy immune system.

Here’s how BASE describes the Recovery Activator:

Main Benefits:

  • Facilitates Glycogen Absorption
  • Enhances Recovery
  • Protects Immune Function
  • Increases Lung Function

I take 2 of these with my multi vitamin in the morning and then 2 more after every training session. My muscle soreness after both intense and long workouts has been greatly reduced.

BASE Electrolyte Salt is more than just another simple “salt supplement.” BASE’s product includes not only natural crystalline salt, but also calcium, magnesium, and potassium – all essential for energy production and ability to race in hot/humid conditions on race day.

I use the E-salt in lots of ways, including: adding it to BASE Amino for hot training sessions, in my morning oatmeal, and as a simple table salt before long training sessions. This product saved me when I was training in Florida earlier this summer and I was losing more than my normal amount of fluid through sweat.

Here’s BASE’s description:

Main Benefits:

  • Improves Electrolyte Balance
  • Enhanced Recovery
  • Enhances Hydration
  • Improved Performance

My final conclusion is that BASE Performance products are worth the investment if you are serious about filling the gaps in your nutrition strategy and you are serious about recovery.

I’ve personally experienced a boost in my training by using these products. A few days ago I covered 50 hilly miles on the bike faster than I’ve ever covered 50 miles, even on race days. The difference: BASE products before, during, and after.

I’m hooked.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given these products by BASE Performance for purposes of this review. However, my opinion is my own and I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review.

** I am not a registered dietician or nutrionist. You should consult your physician or a competent professional if you have questions about this product or others like them.