Xlab torpedo mount review

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

As a triathlete I’ve been deep into the void; places where the sound of my own heart pounded so loudly in my head it was deafening, places where my vision blurred, where my skin crawled and stood on end, I’ve stopped sweating in 100 degree heat, my stomach seized, and my muscles froze.

To some degree pain and suffering is what triathlon is about. But symptoms like those I just described are not. That’s dehydration. Been there. Don’t want to go back.

I’ve stretched the length of my racing and training out over the last few years, so finding the best way possible to hydrate on the bike before the all-important run has been a top priority. I’ve experimented with different hydration methods on the bike at each race with mixed results.

Recently I was given the opportunity to try out Xlab’s carbon Torpedo Mount system.

It’s a simple carbon fiber platform that attached between your aero bars, allows you to mount Xlab’s torpedo cage  at your fingertips.

It comes with reinforced velcro straps that when pulled tight, keep your drink bottle right at your hands. This eliminates the need to reach down for a tube mounted bottle or behind you for a seat tube mounted bottle.

The real genius behind Xlab’s torpedo mount is in the aerodynamic science.

“Taking a drink from an XLAB AQUA-SHOT once every 15 minutes is faster than the drag (as much as 50 grams) from a 3/8 dia (10 mm.) straw for the whole bike split. The drag from a front “aero” bottle is considerably more as it has nearly 3x the frontal area.” – (from Xlab’s website)

I added Xlab’s Aqua Shot bottle to complete the set-up, although standard water bottles will work as well.

I’ve been riding with my Xlab set up for a few weeks now and am pleased with how simple it is. I was skeptical at first. I wondered if it would be difficult to remove and replace the bottle from the cage while riding at speed. I found out that it’s not only easy, but that I prefer it to reaching down for my bottle or “craning” my neck to reach a straw from a traditional aero drink system.

My Xlab aqua shot bottle is right at my finger tips at all times and I find myself remembering to drink more often. In fact, I don’t even have to come out of the aero position to remove it, take a drink, and replace it. That was a surprise.

The only draw back thus far has been that the straps loosen over time and need to be pulled tight periodically before a ride. Small price to pay for a simple and effective way to avoid dehydration on the bike.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given this product by Xlab for purposes of this review. However, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide a positive review.

ps. Obviously I conducted this fancy photo shoot in our kitchen – while Mommy was away coaching swim practice. Max, you admonished me saying “Daddy, Mommy is going to be mad at you for bringing your bike in the kitchen again. She mopped the floor today. I helped.” Shhh, Max, let’s keep it between us. Maybe she won’t notice the tire marks I made on the white tile floor.