Simple things: the philosophy of Max

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I’ve written to you before about how we take turns at the dinner table praying. Each of you get a few seconds to say your own prayer. It’s often silly, but it’s always special.

Max, here is your prayer from last night:

“Dear God, thank you for my lawn mower. And thank you for Daddy’s mower. And thank you for grass.”

In a child’s eyes it’s always the simple things. A simple prayer from the boy who once philosophized that: The tractor is my ocean.

You woke up early this morning, before daybreak. We ate oatmeal together at the kitchen table and you told me that “boys get up early because we’ve gotta work and we need to be quiet so we don’t wake up girls”.

You were wearing your There Will be Mud John Deere tshirt and your new John Deere hat with the camo bill when I left the house this morning.

I love you,

– Daddy

ps. We started the pumpkin carving process last night, so I’ll show you those tomorrow. Izzy, you had me draw you a picture of a zombie. I’ll show you that later too.