Rudy Project Windmax helmet review

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

As a husband and a father of 3 the single most important piece of equipment I use for training and racing is a helmet. Cycling is the most dangerous thing about being a triathlete, so I take every precaution I can on the bike. I’ve used several different helmets over the years, but never a “top of the line” helmet.

I decided to check out the new Rudy Project Windmax as my first foray into the high-end market. I’m a big fan of Rudy’s products already, having worn their sunglasses for years and recently switched to their Wingspan aero-helmet.

I selected the size S-M Windmax in Fluo Yellow. It weighs in a a feather light 250 grams.

The first thing I noticed about the Windmax when I put it on was the slightly more Euro feel. It sits higher on the head than traditional more “bucket-like” helmets. It felt strange at first, but I quickly grew to appreciate the more comfortable ride.

With 21 huge vents the Windmax keeps my head well cooled while riding.

It’s also equipped with two sets of pads: the first being this one-piece “bug stopper” padding system. This is a great upgrade over traditional helmets I’ve used. There are few things worse on the bike than the dreaded bee in the helmet on a hot summer day.

The Windmax also comes with a set of more traditional pads if you prefer.

It also comes with two easy-snap-on visors. One for mountain biking. And one for aero-dynamic road riding.

The Windmax is highly adjustable. Rudy’s RSR8 retention dial system is the easiest on the fly adjustment system I’ve ever used. It’s rubberized, so it’s easy to feel and turn, even while on the bike. I felt really secure in this helmet despite the more Euro fit.

I’ve ridden about 200 miles in my Windmax and I’m officially a believer in “high-end” helmet selection now.  Sometimes you get what you pay for. And in this case, the Windmax delivers in areas that cheaper helmets can not. I’ve never found myself fidgeting with this helmet to make adjustments during long rides. I actually forget it’s there. That’s a good thing with a bike helmet.

This helmet provides superior light-weight comfort while also keeping you safe. What else are you looking for in a helmet? Good looks?  Yeah, the Fluo color is awesome too! (it also comes in 3 other colors too that aren’t quite as bright).

It’s great looking, provides great comfort for long rides, and is most importantly, safe.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given this product by Rudy Project for purposes of this review. However, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review.