The first step: Why signing up for your next race makes all the difference

rev3_knoxville_logo

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

The distance is nothing ; it is only the first step that is difficult. – Madame Marie du Deffand

I stumbled upon this quote yesterday. I thought about the distance still to travel and realized that of the many things I’ve learned as a triathlete, this simple quote pretty well summarizes the experience for me.

It’s always that first step in life. Towards something. Or away. But the step is essential and will make all the difference.

I signed up for my first race of the season yesterday. Took the first step, in that area of my life, towards a new year.

I’m racing at Rev 3 Knoxville again this year on May 5. I love the people who run Rev3 and their mission to put family first. You can read my review of last year’s race here. It’s a tough course in Knoxville with lots of climbing on the bike. But the goal is still 5 hours 30 minutes (I went 5:43 last year).

It’s amazing how just signing up for a race, changes everything. I’m excited again. I know the days will be long, cold, and often difficult leading up to May 5th, but as I’ve written to you before, I need it in my life. Training through the winter for a long course race resets my focus on the journey, and life in general. Another Vision Quest. Sounds crazy. Maybe it is. But it’s your dad.

So, here’s the first step in another triathlon journey for me. I think it’s the first of many first steps in different areas of my life in 2013.

Zach Gill from A.L.O. wrote in the song “States of Friction”:

find the strength to move from love and not from fear.

That’s one of my goals this year.

I love you,

– Daddy

ps. I’ll be writing to you more about Rev3. Maybe even running some contests on TriFatherhood.com related to Rev3. Stay tuned.