Pearl Izumi PRO Softshell WXB 3×1 Glove review

gloves

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I don’t like to train indoors. I’m indoors too much as it is, so I always choose an outdoor training when I can. Even when it’s freezing, sleeting, or snowing. You have to be prepared for that though. The key is having the right gear.

I’ve had trouble keeping my hands warm over the years. I guess that’s what you get with cheap Target winter gloves on a 20 degree bike ride.

When Pearl Izumi offered me the chance to try their top of the line PRO Softshell WXB 3×1 glove I jumped at the chance. These are serious gloves. With a $130 price tag they’d better be.

palmsofgloves

The first thing I noticed was the construction of the glove. You can tell just by holding these gloves that they are going to be toasty. They combine a Thermal lite liner with a waterproof, Primaloft insulated shell. That combo gave me options.

liners

Cool weather? Just wear the liners. (I like these for running)

Cold weather? wear the insulated shell.

Nasty weather? Weather for hearty-brave-stubble faced-studly-mountain man-dads (ahem)? Wear both.

Here’s how Pearl Izumi describes them:

Our warmest glove ever combines a Thermal Lite liner with a completely waterpoof, Primaloft insulated shell for maximum versatility in the nastiest weather.         

  • P.R.O. Barrier WxB with Outdry® provides optimal water protection by bonding the waterproof, breathable membrane directly to the external layer of the glove

  • Fleece lined

  • Liner glove features P.R.O. Thermal Lite fabric and strategically placed Clarino™ synthetic leather in high-wear areas

  • Hook and loop closure

  • Anatomic fit maximizes finger dexterity for shifting and braking

  • Reflective elements for low-light visibility

  • Pittards® WR100X Natural Carbon Leather provides superior softness and durability

  • Primaloft® insulation provides optimal warmth without bulk

I’ll vouch for all of that.

BOTTOM LINE:

These are warm gloves. I might even call them HOT, depending on the weather. That’s why Pearl Izumi gave layering options.

They included lots of top of the line features, including this super soft Wr100X Natural Carbon Leather. Note the attention to detail with the PI logos.

leather

I like the additional grip they added to the first two fingers and thumb, making shifting gears easy, even in bulky winter gloves.

fingergrips

Safety first, right? Yes. They added reflective elements to the gloves too.

reflectivethumbsmorereflective

No cold air is slipping inside of these gloves. You can pull them nice and secure with this closure.

closer

Now that I can keep my hands warm you  won’t catch me inside this winter. I can ride year round. Mid-winter in Tennessee? No problem. The North Pole? Yep, that too (I presume). As gloves go, these are the luxury vehicles of the category.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given this product for purposes of this review. However, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review.

PearlIzumilogo