Saturday morning run: alone in the dark

the view from my car window

the view from my car window

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

It was 23 degrees this morning. I put on layers: running tights, running pants over them, wool socks, a long sleeve shirt, a new running jacket, a thermal hat, the heaviest trail shoes I own. I started my car early while I made coffee.

I drove to the trailhead near our house, where I would meet my friends for a short hilly trail run. I was early. I usually am.

So I sat there, above our little town. Listening to Jack Johnson and wondering about “sleeping through the static”.

I love sitting in that dark, hidden parking lot alone.

Waiting to run.

The dark so heavy and quiet it’s overwhelming.

Strange the fear and joy you can feel at once.

Alone in the dark.

Waiting to run.

I love you,

– Daddy

@cblaylock and Mack, ready to run!

@cblaylock and Mack, ready to run!

the sun also rises. Testing the new Zoot Mega Heat wind jacket

the sun also rises. Testing the new Zoot Mega Heat wind jacket