The Family Friendly guide to planning your race season

knoxsplashpad

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate

I gather my things. I shuffle around the house in sweatpants looking for something to write with. Some years I find a pen, but I’ve used a crayon recently.

I don’t have a set day. But I know the familiar feeling in my gut. When it’s time.

The day has come to plan next season’s triathlon season. The big year. The comeback year. The year I fulfill my promise as an age-group superstar.

The computer hums as I click from site to site. After 30 minutes of date checking I put pen/crayon to paper.

“Is March too early to start racing?” I wonder.

Then there’s a crash. Something broken. A fight. A slammed door. And the voice of my wife breaking up a pint-sized brawl before I hear her say from another room, “Chad, can you do something about this?”

FINISH READING THE REST OF THIS ARTICLE, AND LEARN 5 TIPS FOR PLANNING, OVER ON TRIATHLETE.COM