Zoot thermoMegaHeat jacket and pants review

Field testing the Performance thermomegaheat jacket

Field testing the Performance thermomegaheat jacket

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I prefer the outdoors to indoor training (although my coach is trying to teach me to love my bike trainer). Unless I’m equipped with the right gear  it gets a little tricky during the winter months. Layering has always been essential as I trained through fall and early spring, so I’m always on the lookout for pieces of clothing that are both warm and light weight.

Zoot presented me with the opportunity to review some of their ThermoMegaHeat products. Here’s a little about “MegaHeat”:

Engineered for warmth and moisture-management without excess weight. This Super-soft plush-back nylon has 20% spandex to create 4-way high modulus stretch. The addition of MEGAHEAT technology allows this fabric to be extremely lightweight without sacrificing warmth. 80% Nylon ensures durability.

rearview

The Zoot Perfomance Flexwind ThermoMegaHeat jacket is my new go-to piece of clothing from fall and winter running. From Zootsports.com:

Superior wind and water resistance combined with the high visibility of this lightweight running jacket makes it a perfect layer for the season. Featuring THERMOmegaheat stretch panels in the back for warmth and breathability. 360 reflectivity for maximum safety

Fabric:

  • FLEXwind fabric provides superior wind protection and water resistance

  • THERMOmegaheat stretch panel hybrid construction provides warmth and breathability in back

  • Secure zippered hand warmer pockets with bonded MP3 cord hole

  • 360 reflectivity for maximum safety

  • Back cape ventilation for superior breathability

  • Pull cord at waist to keep wind out

  • Soft zipper garage and neck tape for maximum comfort

Zoot’s Megaheat technology allows the product remain extremely light-weight while providing awesome warmth. When I opened the jacket I was a little disappointed because it was so thin. I was looking for something I could wear on COLD training days. This jacket felt like a COOL weather item. I learned differently soon enough.

interior with MegaHeat tech

interior with MegaHeat tech

I wore it on a 45 degree run one morning. Within a few minutes I was unzipping it for more ventilation. This jacket is warm.

By contrast, I wore it on a 23 degree morning with sleet and rain a couple weeks later. I started off cool, but within a few minutes the Megaheat technology was working as intended and I was comfortably warm, with just a short sleeve shirt underneath.

drawstring at the waist and interior pocket

drawstring at the waist and interior pocket

I also tested the jacket on a bike ride, though I believe it’s intended for running. It was a 35 degree morning, so I layered it with a wool jersey underneath. I heated up within a few miles and was comfortable.

a nice and bulky zipper thats easy to grab while wearing gloves

a nice and bulky zipper thats easy to grab while wearing gloves

Verdict: LOVE this jacket.

The other product I tested was the Performance ThermoMegaHeat running pants.

pants

After years of doing my winter running in tights I was skeptical of running in “pants”.

From Zootsports.com:

Relaxed fit run pant with THERMOmegaheat technology for the ultimate in warmth. Zippers at the bottom and articulated knees for easy movement. Enjoy the warmth without weight during your colder runs.

Fabric:

  • THERMOmegaheat fabric provides warmth without weight

  • Secure zippered hand warmer pockets

  • Relaxed track pant fit for superior movement

  • 7″ Reflective leg zippers for maximum safety

  • Flat stretch drawcord for comfort

  • 32″ (81.25cm) Inseam (size medium)

Just like the jacket I tested these pants in a variety of conditions. But the result was the same each time….warmth. And comfort. What they lack in compression they make up for in sheer warmth and freedom.

zippers at the ankles

zippers at the ankles

I’m not sure I’ll ever replace my tights with pants during my long runs, but for shorter mid-week runs in foul weather these are great. I wear them for 3-5 mile runs. They’ve also become my official lounging around the house pants. So comfortable.

super soft interior with MegaHeat tech

super soft interior with MegaHeat tech

The verdict: I’ll use these for years to come, both as running pants and while hanging around the house.

the name says it all

the name says it all

As usual, awesome products from one of triathlon’s original apparel makers. I’ll be reviewing more items from Zoot soon.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given this product for purposes of this review. However, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review.