Across the Threshold: 140.6

rev3-cedar-point1

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

Last night I found myself on my bike trainer at 9:30pm in our living room, listening to music, watching a basketball game, spinning my legs, my mind racing. Somewhere else. You kids and Mommy were sound asleep upstairs.

It’s unusual for me to ride the trainer at night. I’m not a big fan of the mind numbing torture device. But this year is different. We’re going to make friends.

I took the big step.

Across the threshold of one of my remaining fears.

Cedarpointreceipt

I signed up for my first 140.6 mile event at Rev3 Cedar Point on September 7th.

So, like riding the trainer into the late evening last night, I’ll be getting used to a lot of things that aren’t in my comfort zone. I’m excited about that, because it means growth. I’ll finally pay attention to my diet. I’ll stretch. Rest. Train like a pro. All of this in the face of questions about myself as I get older.

A few weeks ago a man guessed my age: “What are you, 40?”

I smiled politely and said “close to it.”

That caused me immediately think to myself, in the middle of a hardware store, what haven’t I done yet? The list is substantial, but believe it or not, a 140.6 mile triathlon is probably the easiest one for me to take a step forward on.

Mommy and I agree that the time is right for this one. You kids are at an age where I can train early or late (like last night) and not infringe on too much family time. As you get older the weekend commitments will grow with ball games, wrestling tournaments (please), swim meets, and gymnastics meets. Now’s the time.

What do you do when all of your excuses are gone? You breathe deep, and jump.

Rev3 has asked me to write about my experience in training for Rev3 Knoxville Half Rev (70.3) in May and then ultimately for Rev3 Cedar Point in September. Those blog posts will begin appearing on Rev3’s blog next week. I’m honored.

I’m keeping this letter short, because I’ll be writing about the whole process at length for Rev3.

I’ll post links to my Rev3 posts here along the way. So, here we go! It’s going to be a awesome adventure.

140.6_1

Or Bust!!!!

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING:

Mon: REST

Tues: Swam 2000 / Ran 5 miles

Wed: Rode the trainer 80 minutes

Thurs: Run 5