Perspective in the dark

pool

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

It was dark when I walked in. The oddity threw me off balance for a moment. I stopped, rubbed the morning stubble still on my face, as if to see if I were fully awake. The lights in the pool were still off. 5:05am. The lifeguards were late.

I sat on a bench to await their arrival. An older lady wasn’t happy about the inconvienence of having her swim delayed. She complained to the front desk about the guards not being on time. I listened silently,  unconcerned, still waiting for the coffee to have it’s awakening in my mind.

Only a few minutes later a frantic life-guard, maybe 20 years old, rushed into the pool and apologized.

“My doors were frozen shut,” he said. “I couldn’t get in my car. I’m so sorry.”

“No worries,” I replied. “It’s cold out there this morning.”

He turned on the lights. I made my way to the aluminum bleachers where I get ready to swim each morning. I sat down and felt melancholy. I hadn’t really wanted to swim on that morning. Deep down I had hoped no one would show up and I could sit for 30 minutes, drink more coffee, and then drive home – feigning disappointment over the missed workout.

The lights came on with a buzz, the constant hum of an indoor pool, slowly. Like sunrise held captive for a moment.

In the dim light my perspective changed. It wasn’t the same old pool that I swim in. It was darker, more mysterious in the half light. No longer tired I jumped in, before the lights could come all the way up.

I pushed off underwater into something new and felt my spirit rise. Within 50 yards the lights were on. But it had been an adventure while it lasted, however brief. It was enough.

Funny how small changes can change your entire perspective.

I’ve felt that sort of shift happening in other areas of my life lately too. It’s amazing what just having someone notice you can do to your perspective on life.

Jerry Garcia said: “Sometimes you get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right”

Whether it’s the predawn pool, your career, or your life at home, he’s right. It’s part of what makes life an adventure.

I love you,

– Daddy

ps. Here’s a song I’ve been listening to a lot lately. I think I’ll start sharing more of the tunes that make me happy. Enjoy Dispatch “Railway”

TRAINING:

Sat: rest

Sun: Ran 11 miles

Mon: rest

Tues: Swam 2000 / Run 5.5