Karen

Karendancing

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

Life gets busy. We keep a hectic schedule at our house, between work, school, gymnastics, swim team, training, side projects, friends, family, etc.

I’m not good at the schedule thing. So mommy ends up managing it all.

I’d be lost without your mommy. I wouldn’t know where to be, when to be there, or how to get there.

I don’t tell her often enough how much I need her.

The last few weeks have been bad at our house. Each of you has had the stomach flu. One at a time. 2-3 days each. It’s been ugly. Fevers and loads of laundry. Your mommy has taken care of you kids. Keeping you comfortable, clean, and medicated. 10 days of “gross”.

Meanwhile I’ve been struggling with my own health as I try to manage everything in my life. It turns out I have some very angry ulcers. Your mommy has taken care of me too. 4 of us and just one of her.

It’s a thankless job sometimes.

As we approach our 14th wedding anniversary in a couple of weeks and our 15th year together I need to tell her more often how much I need her. How much I love her. We all do.

Sometimes I think back to the early days of our marriage; when it was just the two of us living on an island (literally). I remember the conversations we had about who we would be someday. Where we would live. The places we would see. The books we would write.  Anyone else would have thought I was crazy. Anyone else still would. But not your mommy. Sometimes I remember her in the Keys, in Mexico, cruising Charleston harbor, late night parties under palmetto trees. While life is certainly different now, it turns out I need her more than ever. Thank you Karen for taking care of our family.

This song reminds me of the early days. Pat Green “Crazy”:

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING;

Monday: REST

Tues: Swam 2000 / Ran 3.5

Wed: REST

Thurs: Ran 4

Fri: Swam 2000 / planned Bike