Life is just a tire swing: Easter photos and potlucks

3kidsredbarn

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

We had a great weekend! The sort of weekend that you hope for during the other five days of the week….filled with fun, love, and photo opps. It was simple and inexpensive. Just friends and family close to home. It was a good reminder of the importance of simplicity.

You came home from your week in Texas on Friday night, Izzy. I hugged you so hard that you giggled at first and then said “Dad, dad….you’re really squeezing me.” Max and Kate were asleep when you got home, but they were thrilled to see in the morning. Kate, you put Izzy to work right away playing school.

Saturday we went to an Easter egg hunt and potluck at my friends Mr. Chris and Mrs. Kim’s house. You kids had a blast looking for eggs. You also got to take turns riding on the Polaris RTV, petting the horses, fishing in the pond and playing on the rope swing. Big thanks to the Thomas’s for having us.

maxpolarisizzyswing

maxhorseegghunt2

You three even slowed down long enough to sit on a swing with me (photo courtesy of Jeremy Cowart):

meandthreekids

Sunday we went to church with Nana and Papaw in Hendersonville. Afterwards we had the traditional Easter feast!

Everybody smile. Seriously! Look at me. C'mon. Just for a second. Look here. Look at me. Look at me. Ah forget it....

Everybody smile. Seriously! Look at me. C’mon. Just for a second. Look here. Look at me. Look at me. Ah forget it….

I got a little training in too. I’m starting to feel strong again.

Hold onto weekends like this in  your hearts. And remember that life is about family, and friends, and tire swings.

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING:

Saturday; Rode 65 miles

Sunday: Ran 12 miles