Tales from the dinner table: Simple prayers

having Icees a few days ago at Target...and planting one on sister!

having Icees a few days ago at Target…and planting one on sister!

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared one of our dinner conversations with you. We put a lot of importance on family dinner time. Mommy has been teaching swimming lessons and coaching swim team in the evenings lately, but she still prepares a meal for us before she leaves.

We sit at our round table and carry on our tradition; each of us says a short prayer, thanking God for whatever comes to mind.

Last nights prayers:

Kate: Dear God, thank you for my princess cup, thank you for chicken….

Max: (interrupting) Don’t forget my mower.

Kate: Max! My turn! Dear God….

Max: My mower. Thank Him for my mower…

Kate: Maaaaaxxxx!!!! Thank you God for potatoes, for Mommy, and Daddy, and Izzy, and Coco, and Oatmeal for breakfast.

Me: Yes, God…Oatmeal. Great prayer, Kate. Max, your turn.

Max: Dear God, thank you for mowers. For my mower. For Daddy’s mower. And for letting me mow this morning before school. Amen.

Me: Very good, Max. God loves mowers for sure.

Izzy: (giggling) God, thank you for Jesus. Please heal my friend Jackson’s broken leg. Amen.

And so it goes….

I believe God hears our prayers. Even the silent ones. Also the big serious out-loud eloquent ones.  But I think He really likes the simple ones best.

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING:

Saturday: Ran 15 miles

Sun: Rode 56 miles followed by a 2 mile transition run

Mon: REST (allergy attack)

Tues: Swam 1500 (still suffering from respiratory issues. Need to shut down for a couple of days).

we went to your school carnival last Friday night.

we went to your school carnival last Friday night.

dressed for your spring program at mother's day out. You two stole the show (as usual) by hugging each other throughout the performance. Twins are special!

dressed for your spring program at mother’s day out. You two stole the show (as usual) by hugging each other throughout the performance. Twins are special!