Spring Training products for triathletes

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

We’re beginning to see lasting signs that spring is here. After another long winter of slogging through miles in the cold and wet Tennessee winter, warm afternoon walks on the trail, trips to the playground, and the return of baseball are good for our families collective soul.

Warmer temperatures also means I’m breaking out some of my spring/summer training apparel and nutrition. Here are a few of my favorite items that help me get through the spring “peak” hours of training:

Energy Lab Ignyte: PreWorkout Formula

Hero_Ignyte_CherryLimeade

This stuff gets you going! Specifically designed for provide a jump start and lasting energy for Endurance athletes, Ignyte uses an Amino blend, endurance matrix, and a focus matrix to help athletes get the most out of their training and racing.

My experience with this stuff is that it gives me a boost of energy, but not the “hairs on fire” sort of crash and burn you get from traditional energy drinks. Ignyte provides me with a constant steady energy and no crash. Love the Cherry Limeade flavor! I’m also a big fan of their Execute formula for use during workouts.

Spring running apparel:

Pearl Izumi PRO FLY In-R-Cool SS shirt – slightly tapered running top from Pearl featuring In-R-Cool technology to keep you cool!

pearlshirt

Zoot Sports Active Run top –  a basic loose fitting top with UPF 50 sun protection. I love the yellow color for early morning low-light running.

Zoot

Pearl Izumi PRO running tank Same awesome In-R-Cool tech, but in a race singlet. Perfect for your local 5k or unseasonably warm days this spring!

photo (6)

SmartWool PHD running shorts – Easily! Easily, the best running shorts I’ve ever owned. These shorts with a merino liner are the softest, lightest, and most comfortable shorts I’ve ever run in. I’m actually disappointed when I pack my bag for my lunch time workout in the morning and discover that these are dirty. I need more!

photo (8)

Race Day Apparel:

Zoot Performance Tri Tank and 6″ shorts a basic (ie dependable) race get-up from one of triathlon’s original brands. The top features UPF 50 sun protection, Endura fabric for quick drying, and rear pockets for storage. The shorts include the same great Endura fabric, storage pockets, and sun protection – and most importantly Zoot’s patented super comfortable BioWrap technology for muscle support and comfort. Awesome suit for spring racing!

photo (7)

More Nutrition:

Gu Brew – this is my fluid replacement drink of choice these days. I opt for two tablets per bottle. They deliver the electrolytes I need when the temperature creeps up. GUBrew is light, with only 10 calories, so that allows me to get my calories elsewhere on the bike (Gu Chomps, GU Peanut Butter Gels, etc). I love the Peach Tea flavor for spring!!!

photo (9)

More Sun protection:

SkinStrong sun protection – with the sun out more often now I need to slather up with sun screen before long workouts and races. I use SkinStrong’s 30SPF spray or lotion and their 55 SPF stick to protect my skin. Don’t be a statistic – wear sunscreen!

photo (11)

So, there you have it. A few products I’m using this spring to keep me going.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given these products in exchange for mentions on this site; however, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide favorable reviews.