Newton running Terra Momentum review

Good looking all terrain super star seeks adventurous partner for long runs on the beach and beyond.

Good looking all terrain super star seeks adventurous partner for long runs on the beach and beyond.

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

My first experience with Newton running shoes was with the “Motion”. It’s a shoe that I’ve come to love. It’s light. It’s fast! And I look a little like Superman when I wear them.

I recently tried out another shoe from the Boulder, CO (love that place) based company. Most of my running shoe collection is made up of light weight, minimal shoes – best used for fast workouts and racing. So I wanted something sturdy and somewhat heavier to use for slower training days and long runs.

My friends at Backbone Media suggested I try the Terra Momentum. Not because it’s “slow”, but because it makes a great all around shoe for different training paces and terrain. I was skeptical because it’s listed as an “all terrain” shoe. I do all of my trail running in the fall and winter, so I wasn’t sure this shoe would suit my needs this summer. But trusting the experts, and being somewhat smitten with the shoe’s appearance, I decided to go with it. They ensured me that it would be great for road running and would transition nicely to trails when fall comes around.

Momentumfront

Here’s how Newton describes the Terra Momentum:

The Momentum is designed for all runner types looking for a versatile, everyday base-training shoe for roads, urban paths and technical mountain trails. Like all Newton Running shoes, the Momentum offers highly responsive cushioning and ground feel, with a more level platform and lighter weight.

The Momentum weighs in at 11.2 oz, so it’s not a “super light” shoe, but that is to be expected with trail ready shoes. For an all around shoe 11.2 qualifies as light. Because of Newton’s patented forefoot lugs and “trampoline effect” the shoe feels much lighter on your feet.

Besides the shoes great looks the first thing I noticed is the softness of the uppers. It’s the softest upper in my extensive shoe collection and wraps around your foot as you pull the laces tight. Love this feature. For me, the softness here is what sets the Momentum apart from other shoes I own.

momentumrear

My most successful and comfortable running has come in shoes with minimal heel to toe drop lately. The Momentum scores there as well with 4.5 mm drop.

More details from Newton:

UPPER

  • Highly-breathable closed mesh keeps out debris
  • Non-stretch upper and webbing provides lateral stability
  • Slip-proof laces with heel-securing double eyelets
  • Lightweight flexible molded P.U. support frame
  • Reinforced toe cap
  • Reflective logo and heel tab
  • Gusseted tongue

MIDSOLE

  • Tuned Action/ReactionTM technology in the midfoot and heel
  • Biomechanical metatarsal sensor plate
  • Tuned firm high-rebound EVA
  • Midfoot/rearfoot support chassis for added stability
  • ETC anti-friction, anti-bacterial sockliner
  • Accommodates most orthotics

After running in the Momentum for over a month now, both long and short,  I can vouch for the shoe being a  great road shoe – despite it’s label. The thing that makes the Momentum different from Newton’s signature “Sir Isaac” shoe is the somewhat “nobbier” sole.

momentumbottoms

Besides the shoes support and ride there are a few other nice little details that make a difference: I enjoy the heel and tongue loops, both of which make putting your shoes on easier. The reflective heel, side, and toe cap accents are also a nice touch for early morning and evening runners.

I like the Momentum so much that I brought them to the beach with me. Now, that’s saying something.

I love you,

– Daddy

I was given this product for purposes of this review. However, I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review. My opinions are my own.