Fireflies

on our bike ride to the creek a few days ago. you counted the fish.

on our bike ride to the creek a few days ago. you counted the fish.

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

Barefoot silhouettes

small voices in whispers beneath the trees

of our front yard.

Hiding our house from the world.

The same house that didn’t feel like enough

not so long ago.

Looked different last night

in the moonlight.

Our dark street.

I sat on the steps of our big front porch.

No porch lights

A dim lamp lit behind our front door

You ran through the yard

shoeless, pajamas, hair still damp from your bath time

“I’ll catch one,” you said, Kate.

dramatic pause. Smile.

“If I can.”

Then you ran back into the shadows beneath the trees

became a silhouette again. At your brothers side.

Your hair bouncing in ringlets of curls.

Soon you returned to the porch with a firefly cupped lightly in your hand

You smiled “Look!”

And you each took a turn holding it.

“One more?” you said.

“Last chance.” you said.

“I’ll catch one. If I can.” you said.

I sat on our porch that suddenly, just this week, feels like a home

instead of something that needs upgrading,

So we’re not left behind.

Well past your bedtime.

Silhouettes running barefooted, giggling, leaping

and grasping at things in the air.

“There will be more later this summer,” I said as a matter of fact.

Still clinging to the idea of more being better.

“There are so many now,” you said.

I love you,

– Daddy

Izzy, you came and helped me sell peaches at the Nashville Farmers Market on Tuesday. We had so much fun!

Izzy, you came and helped me sell peaches at the Nashville Farmers Market on Tuesday. We had so much fun!

TRAINING:

Mon: lifted weights

Tues: Swam 1900

Wed: Ran 6 miles / Biked 25 miles

Thurs: Ran 10 miles