Carpe Diem, my son!

max

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

Yesterday Mommy got you two little ones bathed, changed, and generally cleaned up. We were leaving “in 5 minutes” to go deliver peaches. She told you not to get dirty while you waited on me to get home with the truck.

It was just 5 minutes.

But with twin 4 years a lot can happen in “just” 5 minutes.

She found you two in the backyard.

Water hose running.

Mud pit created.

No longer “generally cleaned up”.

You both got in big trouble. Max, your expression says it all.

As much as we were annoyed with having to clean you up again, it made us laugh. It made me laugh, at least. It took Mommy a little longer to find the humor.

I’m sure it was worth the scolding. From the looks of things you had a blast in those 5 minutes. Carpe Diem my son!

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING: I’m taking a solid week off from training to recharge. We’ve had a lot going on outside of triathlon. I recently pulled out of Rev3 Cedar Point and the Chattanooga Waterfront Triathlon. I’m bummed about it, but it was the right thing to do. There are many reasons. Perhaps I’ll write to you another time about those. I’m shifting my focus to resting and then peaking again for the Mountain Lakes Triathlon in August and perhaps a trip to the beach for the Coastal Triathlon in Gulf Shores in September.