Back on solid ground

learning to play "Better Together" by Jack Johnson

learning to play “Better Together” by Jack Johnson

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I needed some rest. Like Jimmy Buffett said, “I can’t run at this pace very long.” 

So I took a week off from training. It’s rare for me to completely shut things down. No swimming. No cycling. No running.

Just rest. Mostly. 

And work. 

And a summer cold. And some nagging injuries that needed time to heal.

I learned a long time ago that you have to take everything in your life into account when you are training for endurance sports. Not just the training stress you’re applying to your body. You have to consider your work schedule. Your sleep. Your health. Your external commitments. 

It all adds up to create the big picture of your well being. Triathlon is supposed to make you healthy – not sick. So you have to know when to take your foot off of the gas.

I had/have an injured knee and achilles on my left side. I’ve been limping around while I load peaches this week. 

I actually enjoyed the rest this week despite not feeling well. I woke up this morning finally feeling better. As I watched the Tour de France my motivation to train even came back. I think I’ll get back to it tomorrow.

I recently pulled out of both Cedar Point and Chattanooga. This just wasn’t the year for those. But I’m replacing them with a trip to Guntersville, AL for the Mountain Lakes Triathlon in August. It was the 2nd triathlon I ever did, back in 2002, so it holds a special place in my heart. We’ll stay with Mr. Michael’s parents on the lake. Mr. Michael and his family are coming down from Atlanta for the  weekend too. You kids are excited to play with kids again!

We spent the 4th of July at Dr. Hutton’s in Columbia, just as we’ve done for the past decade. Like every year we had a huge potluck dinner and then the best fireworks show in Maury County.

kids4thofjuly

 

As we were leaving a lady got her car stuck on a slope of wet grass and mud. Dr. Hutton used the John Deere tractor to pull the vehicle out while I steered it back onto solid surface. 

maxtractor

We were among the last to leave. You kids stood by mommy’s side, huddled in the dark rain and watched. It was a great and fitting end to the evening. Another metaphor for where we’re headed.

I love you,

– Daddy