Skora BASE running shoe review

skorabase

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

“Real” is good. We search for it. We try to create it when all else fails.

But sometimes the world is just complicated. “Real” is hard to come by.

Running shoes are the same. Complicated. Fancy. Schmancy. Sometimes. (oh yes I did).

A new kid of the running shoe block, Skora, is making things a little more real. From Skorarunning.com:

At SKORA, we look at things differently We believe that running shoes should be built to encourage running performance that is as biomechanically correct as possible, with minimal interference. Our footwear lets people run naturally. Run Real is our philosophy and we stand by it.

I was fortunate to test out a pair of their triathlon focused shoes, the BASE, recently.

skoraxstrap

Here’s how Skora describes the “BASE”:

BASE is the ultimate, multi-purpose running shoe. Equally at home on the road, in the gym or racing a triathlon. BASE offers a stretch-mesh sockfit with an innovative adjustable X-strap system, elastic heel strap, reflective details and stitch-down construction with an Ortholite insole. Lightweight, quick-fit, and unique in design, BASE offers a lightweight cushioned ride with 13mm stack height (9mm without insole).

BASE is built on the R01 platform composed developed to offer a unique anatomical fit that closely matches the foot’s shape. The R01 platform also features a zero-drop outsole/midsole with just enough cushioning and a curved section profile in both the forefoot and heel. This allows for optimal natural movement and performance.

Having become a big fan of the zero drop movement in running shoes I was excited to try the BASE. I loved it’s unique appearance from the moment I opened the box. They look like a pair of cycling shoes, minus the cleats.

True to their earliest roots the shoe felt like putting a pair of socks or house shoes. Super light (7.9 oz) and comfortable (Ortholite sock liner). The light weight makes the shoe ideal for race day. And the sockliner makes sockless running painless. Both are key for triathletes looking to perform on race day.

One of the most common causes for concern I hear among those uninitiated to shoes in the BASE’s category is that they don’t provide enough cushion. I found the BASE to have ample forefoot cushioning for my taste (a former stability shoe junky).

The Velcro X-strap and heel strap system is easy to use and allows for a semi-custom fit. I had no problem getting the right fit for my foot shape.

skoraheelstrap

For now I’m sticking to shorter runs in my BASE, but I’m confident that I could also do my longer runs in the shoe.

Overall, the BASE is a great shoe for anyone looking for minimalist – REAL – zerodrop option. Triathlete or not. It provides the fast, close to the ground feel I’m come to love in the recent simplified running shoe trend.

Run real!

I love you,

– Daddy

*  I was given this product for purposes of this review. My opinions are my own. I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review. You can find more info about the Skora BASE here

skorabottomskoraflex