A flat stone sinking into the deep

Easter in Belgium 1978 maybe?

Easter in Belgium 1978 maybe?

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

Your feet almost reach the foot-board of your bed now, Izzy. I don’t know why I noticed this recently. But as I passed by your room while gathering my stuff for an early morning workout, I noticed.

I stopped in your doorway.

Watched you sleep.

I write to you often about watching you sleep.

I guess it’s when the world slows down enough for me; In the quiet hours.  When peace and calm come easily and distractions and obligations fade and drift from my mind like a single flat stone sinking into deep water.

I leaned on the door frame for a moment. Then I peeked in on you little two – smiled at your ways of sleeping upsidedown or sideways,  covers on the floor for you Max, pulled tight around your ears Kate, mouths wide open. That slow drift again.

Sunday we visited Nana and Papaw. They had gathered a box of old pictures for us to look at.

As I looked through them, pictures of me as a child, as a teen, and as a young adult newly engaged to your mommy, I thought about you kids outgrowing your beds again.

And I wished I could stop the fade and drift of that stone sinking out of sight.

Watch it all in slow motion.

But I guess the beauty of life is in it’s forward motion. An eternal progression towards the plan revealed in 2 Corinthians 10:

10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.

So even as you kids outgrow your beds and your daddy’s hair turns more grey each day, life is taking it’s course. I can smile about that, even as I sometimes wish it could slow down.

I love you,

– Daddy

Here are a few more of the pictures from Nana and Papaw’s house:

Daddy and Coach Frank Simpson 1993

Daddy and Coach Frank Simpson 1993

Belgium 1977

Belgium 1977

Mommy and Daddy 1998 - pre marriage

Mommy and Daddy 1998 – pre marriage

1976 maybe?

1976 maybe?

another pic of Mommy and Daddy when we were still dating

another pic of Mommy and Daddy when we were still dating

my "happy face" after winning the state title 1993

my “happy face” after winning the state title 1993

TRAINING: Reinjured my achilles on Monday during my run, so I’m backing off again. Limping towards my final race at Mt. Lakes unfortunately. I’ll be there though!

Sun: rode 40 miles

Mon: Swam 1600 / Ran 2.75 miles (walked home)

Tues: none

Wed: Swam 2000 / Bike?