Mizuno Wave Evo Levitas review

MizunoLevitas

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I had the chance to review Mizuno’s Wave Evo Cursoris a few  months ago. I’m a big fan of that shoe, so when I was given the chance to also try the Wave Evo Levitas I jumped at the chance.

Being a recent convert to Zero Drop technology I’m always eager to try new shoes in that category.

The Levitas is the lightest shoe in Mizuno’s “Evo” collection. In fact, the name “Levitas” is derived from the Greek word for “light”.

The Levitas delivers on Mizuno’s commitment toMezamashii“.

How I imagine Mezamashii: The miles escape. My mind drifts far away and somehow focuses in the moment, in unison. My body casually goes along for the ride. the Levitas  deliver such escape in a sometimes heavy world.

About the Wave Evo Levitas from Mizuno’s website:

Product Features

    • “Levitas” is derived from the Latin word for “light”
    • Designed with a narrower forefoot platform, the Wave EVO Levitas is the lightest and fastest of the EVO shoes.
    • ZERO RAMP offset between the heel and forefoot provides a neutral plane tailored to a midfoot strike.
    • WAVE TECHNOLOGY in the forefoot for maximum protection, comfort and a smooth ride.
    • 8 mm/8 mm heel-forefoot design offers a close-to-the-ground experience.

The biggest difference between the Levitas and the Cursoris is the padding and the width.

The Levitas offers a bit less padding than the Cursoris with 3mm less cushion. The trade off is in the weight, as the Levitas weigh in 1 oz lighter.

The Levitas is a narrower shoe than the Cursoris, with a more slender toe box and forefoot.

mizonobottoms

The heel cup on the Levitas allows for a natural movement and overall ride.

mizonoback

The uppers are constructed of a super breathable stretch mesh, making the Levitas a great summer shoe. It’s also a good choice for triathletes as the mesh drains well (retro fit with elastic laces).

mizunolevitasfront

The shoe is flat when standing still, but flexes and provides ample cushion when running. I’ve run both short/fast workouts and long/slow runs in the Levitas and they perform equally well. No hot spots or foot soreness in either case.

My recommendation:

If you’re still new to the Zero Drop  / Minimalist shoe movement you might start with the wider, more cushioned Wave Evo Cursoris.

But if you’re a devotee of the technology and speed is part of your goal, I recommend the nimble Levitas (though the Cursoris is super fast shoe as well).

Overall, the Mizuno Wave Evo Levitas is a great addition to my shoe collection. It will most likely see action during 4-6 mile runs which include speed work.

I love you,

– Daddy

* I was given this shoe for purposes of this review; however, my opinions are my own and I was under no obligation to provide a favorable review.