Thanksgiving and a lesson on giving over breakfast

magi1

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

We spent Thanksgiving surrounded by family. We’re lucky to be surrounded by your grandparents, your uncles, aunts, and cousins.

Because you’re the youngest of the nieces and nephews / grandkids, you get lots of attention. We had a great day. Overate. Laughed a lot. And as always, wrote what we’re thankful for on notecards that Nana makes everyone take a turn reading aloud.

The “Thankful box” is a huge ordeal that everyone complains about doing each year. We try to avoid it. But in the end we all comply with Nana’s insistence, sit in a cirlce, and read them.

Some are funny (“cake, icy-hot, and obamacare”), some are snarky, and some are heartfelt (I’m usually the guilty party on those).

We do have so much to be thankful for and being with family is a great reminder that the greatest things are the things that money can’t buy. Going into this Christmas season, I want to stay focused on that.

Izzy, this morning you and I were reviewing your Christmas wish list. It’s rather long this year, but true to your sweet spirit, it still includes things like “love, hugs, and kisses.” And, oh yeah, surfboard, new bed spread, and ipad.

As I sipped my coffee I sensed an opportunity to share a lesson with you about the season.

“You know, Jesus himself only got 3 presents on Christmas,” I said.

“I know,” you said.

“Gold, Frankincense, and Myrhh,” I said sounding very serious. “3 gifts! That’s it. Jesus. From wise men!”

“Yeah, I know Dad,” you said. “What are Frankincense and Myrhh anyway?”

I paused. You raised your eyebrows. We starred at each other. You smiled first.

“Izzy, I have no idea,” I said. “But that’s what he got!”

We both laughed. You over your doughnuts and chocolate milk. Me over my gluten free muffin and coffee.

So I read up on Frankincense and Myrhh today and further pondered the ways we might focus on the birth of Jesus and remaining thankful for all of the gifts we already have.

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING: I’ve been sick with the stomach flu for most of the week: in bed on Tuesday and much of Wednesday. Back on my feet for Thursday.

Mon: Ran 41 minutes / lifted weights

Tues: none

Wed: none

Thurs: none

Fri: short run

Its about time to get back on my feet. I have reviews of several products to tell you about: Altra Provision 1.5 shoes, Newton Boco AT shoes, Mizuno Wave Rider 17 shoes, and GU salted caramel gel.