Happy Valentines Day 2014

Mommy always goes above on beyond to make awesome crafts for you kids.

Mommy always goes above on beyond to make awesome crafts for you kids.

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I found an old DVD in our bookcase a few days ago. Its labeled “Reception/Key West”. I showed it to Mommy and neither of us remembered exactly what was on the old DVD, so we put it in the computer to watch.

Our wedding day from almost 15 years ago came to life.

Our old friends looking like teenagers. Our parents. A crowded room at the church.

And then the camera made its way towards the girl in the white dress. She turned and talked into the camera. I couldn’t stop the smile from spreading across my face when I saw her.  I wondered about 15 years – really the nearly 16 years I’ve known your mommy. Those old moving images of her seem like yesterday. Really. I remembered how lucky I felt to be marrying the beautiful blonde. How lucky I still am.

The rest of the DVD was footage from a trip we took to Big Pine Key and Key West a year later on our 1st wedding anniversary. We were still kids then – but we’d been married a year, had lived on an island from nearly a year, and had made our way back home. You three kids were still just hopes that lingered in our thoughts. It would be several more years before you were born Izzy.

izzy valentines

A lot of time has passed since that night at the reception and the trip a year later to the keys.

But it occurred to me that one thing hasn’t changed; the way I feel when I’m with your mommy.

It’s valentines day today, so I’m a little sappy I suppose. I want you 3 to know though, how much I love your Mommy. How she’s been by my side – no matter what – through good times and bad times. How she’ll always be my valentine. And you will too.

the box you and mommy made to collect your valentines Izzy.

the box you and mommy made to collect your valentines Izzy.

Happy Valentines Day Izzy, Max, and Kate.

I love you,

– Daddy

ps. Kate, a few nights ago at dinner you said “We all have the same nose……except for Daddy: his nose is hairy.” I love you anyway.

TRAINING:

Sat: Rode 1 hour

Sun: Ran 6 miles

Mon: None

Tues: Swam 1000 / Ran 3

Wed: Biked 35 minutes

Thurs: none

Fri: Swam 1000 / Ran 3