Swimming for daylight

abbeyroad

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I left in the dark. Half asleep.

Dangling my feet in the water

flexing my ankles, pulling waves to the surface with my bony toes.

Looking across the surface – the short distance to the other side. The blurry black line.

Over and over. Over and over.

Where can I stretch my legs and keep going? No end. No limits. Air to breath.

No lanes.

Without the wall on the other side.

Listening to my heart pound.

Grinding my teeth.

Turning around.

Wishing for something the whole way. Screaming underwater. Talking to God with no words and no air.

Pushing off the wall, deep enough pass under the turbulence I created at the surface.

On my way back to where I started. On my way back home. In daylight.

I love you,

– Daddy

 

 TRAINING:

Sat: Biked 1:40

Sun: Ran 50 minutes

Mon: rest

Tues: Swam 1700