Mizuno Wave Sayonara 2 review

sayonara2inthegrass

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

A while back I wrote to you about my first experience with Mizuno’s Wave Sayonara – a shoe that bridged the gap between Mizuno’s pure racing flats and their staple cushioned shoes like the Wave Rider.

I was an immediate fan of the original Sayonara as an everyday trainer, because I was already doing my fast training/racing in their zero drop options and the light weight Hitogami. I was excited to learn that Mizuno was taking everything that was great about the original Sayonara and updating it to create the Sayonara 2.

sayonara2

From Mizunousa.com:

WAVE SAYONARA 2: BLUR THE LINES BETWEEN RACE DAY SPEED AND EVERYDAY TRAINING IN ONE SUPREMELY FAST, SLEEK RIDE.

Just like the original, the Wave Sayonara 2 is all about delivering an everyday fast running experience in a lightweight, versatile execution, that’s ideal for race day or fast training.

I agree with Mizuno’s marketing copy entirely. The Sayonara 2, like the original, offers me an option with a little more cushion than my shorter distance racing shoes. I did most of my training for my summer 70.3 in the Sayonara 2 (supplementing with the Wave Hitogami which I ended up racing in). I’m now using them as my marathon training shoe (Huntsville Rocket City Marathon in Dec.).

sayonara2front

Key Features from Mizunousa.com:

  • New refined fit includes a more harmonious midfoot wrap with softer, more breathable mesh materials throughout the upper, while still providing support in all the right places.
  • Ultra-responsive, lightweight U4ic midsole and Parallel Wave in the heel deliver a smooth, cushioned ride.
  • A wide forefoot, full-ground midsole and 10mm ramp give the Wave Sayonara 2 a stable, fast ride that’s incredibly light, yet durable, at 8 oz.
  • New sockliner provides increased resiliency and responsiveness.

The Sayonara 2 is slightly lighter than the original which is almost always a good thing in a shoe that is still providing ample support and cushion.

The shoe provides a somewhat “firm” ride until you become accustomed to Mizuno’s patented “Wave technology”. The Sayonara 2 features a modified version of the standard Wave technology – designed to assist the foot in a smooth transition from heel to toe.

sayonara2bottom

The upper is decidedly more supple than the original – and as great looking as the original was, the Sayonara 2 with it’s “waving hands” ups the anty on aesthetic. As always, Mizuno makes fun and good looking shoes.

Final verdict: I’m using the Sayonara 2, just like the original, as a my long run shoe, but it’s fast enough to also use as a fast race day shoe for 5k.

I love you,

– Daddy