A Full Life

IMG_0958

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

You have strep throat Max. I’ve been home with you the last couple of days, working inbetween building legos and finding on demand episodes of Avengers Assemble and Goosebumps for you.

We went to the doctor this morning, followed by a trip the pharmacy to get your meds.

at the doc...still smiling through the strep.

at the doc…still smiling through the strep.

I ran into an old friend there – one I hadn’t seen in years. Our conversation took the shape of many of my conversations with old friends these days.

“What have you been up to?”

“Oh, you know, work – driving kids around – work – kids.”

We both laughed and conceded that such a life, while it’s not what you imagine as a teenager, is indeed a “good life”. I mean, when I knew this particular friend last I think I thought I’d be an Olympic gold medalist and maybe coaching the Iowa Hawkeyes wrestling team. Turns out I’m in business (one I can be proud of, at least) and a suburban dad who still occasionally sneaks in some hard core punk from the 80s in my truck at volume 11 – with the windows rolled up tight, of course.

at the 1st grade music program: SQUIRM

at the 1st grade music program: SQUIRM

good things this beautiful princess came with her own superhero twin brother bodyguard

good thing this beautiful princess came with her own superhero twin brother bodyguard

Mommy and I realize that a full life is a happy life. While I may not catch more than 15 minutes of any game (even The World Series.Gasp!) or even full episodes of my favorite show – Star Trek TNG (I sometimes sneak episodes on Netflix in 10 minute increments here and there), my life is happier because it’s full of real moments.

Izzy you swam over 2000 yards at your swim-a-thon on Saturday. I took you and a friend out to lunch afterwards to celebrate!

Izzy you swam over 2000 yards at your swim-a-thon on Saturday. I took you and a friend out to lunch afterwards to celebrate!

Strep Throat. Legos. A full schedule from awake to passed out.

I love you,

Daddy

TRAINING: enjoying the offseason

Fri: rode 15 miles

Sat: Ran 6 miles

Sun: slept in…until church

Mon: Swam 1200

ps.

Mommy and I went last week to see our favorite band A.L.O. Afterwards we got to meet one of our favorite artists and lead singer - Zach Gill. He couldn't have been any nicer.

Mommy and I went last week to see our favorite band A.L.O. Afterwards we got to meet one of our favorite artists and lead singer – Zach Gill. He couldn’t have been any nicer.