Choosing between This or That

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I took a personality test not too long ago – 

One of those Facebook links.

And I hate Facebook.

But Mommy took it first and I wanted to see my results vs. hers.

It wasn’t particularly sophisticated, the test. 

The normal “this” or “that” sort of thing.

It told me what I already knew – mostly left brain, like Mommy. 

Mine pointed to “Music” as a something I’m passionate about. 

I don’t listen to music much anymore.

I watch the news in the morning, listen to podcasts, a little sports talk. 

Retreat into secret thoughts about work, on weekends.

This morning we sat at the kitchen table, a stack of white paper, overflowing box of crayons, a few highlighters, half full blue solo cups of milk, apple fritter crumbs creating lumps and stains under the pieces of drawing paper. . 

It’s been awhile since we’ve done that. 

Slowed down our Saturday morning to draw pictures.

I turned on the “Indie Classics” radio station and sang along – to every song somehow. 

“How do you know all these songs?” you said. 

“Did he say ‘here we are now….hot potato?” you said. 

With the lights off, its less dangerous. 

With the lights off. With the lights off. Cause maybe you’re gonna be the one that saves me.

I drew Martian Manhunter. 

We did a weird dance to Bjork or was it the Stranglers?

And the whole morning slipped away before we knew it. 

My left brain, crayons, music, a stack of books with the kinds of single sentences I read more than once before reading the next. 

For a few hours. 

I love you,

– Daddy

TRAINING:

Tues: Swam 1200 straight then Ran 3 miles

Wed: Ran 4.5 miles

thurs: rode 17 miles

Fri: Swam 2200 yards

Sat: Rode 31 miles