2016 Summer product roundup featuring Mizuno, xx2i, and Beach Body

sayonara1

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I completed Ironman Chattanooga 70.3 in May and have shifted my focus to lifting weights again and ramping up my bike mileage for an early fall climbing metric century ride.

Over the years I’ve been fortunate to test and sample a lot of great products. Two of my most trusted brands, Mizuno running shoes and xx2i optics, are back with new offerings for this summer, along with a brand new supplement product line from Beach Body.

First up is the new Mizuno Wave Sayonara 4. The 4th installment in a shoe model that has become my go-to day-to-day training shoe. I trained for and ran the Huntsville Marathon in 2014 wearing the Sayonara 2 and trained for Chattanooga 70.3 in the Sayonara 3 (racing in the Mizuno Hitogami). I’ve logged a few miles in the “4” at this point and the most noticeable difference is a softer more comfortable upper and beefed up blown rubber forefoot cushioning. I like it better than the previous models and that’s saying a lot.

sayonara42

sayonara43

Next up a couple of brand new models of sunglasses from xx2i. I’ve worn their sunglasses in the past on race day and am a huge believer in their luxury performance at affordable prices place in the sport sunglasses market.

This summer I’m wearing the casual Bermuda1 every day. They’re great looking everyday glasses with awesome polarization – I can see my phone better in intense light and could see right through the waves on our trip to the beach.

xx2i

I wore the Hawaii1 during Chattanooga 70.3 – opting to wear them instead of a much more expensive pair of race day sunglasses in my collection. They have a “barely there” carbon rame weight and top rate polarization as well. I was given the opportunity to be the very first person to ever race in a pair of the Hawaii1. Two thumbs up!

xx2i2

Both are excellent options that don’t break the bank for elite performance.

Finally, the new Beach Body performance line aimed at athletes. According to their PR firm, I was the first person “in the wild” to test the products during day to day training and recovery. The product line includes: Energize, Hydrate, Recover, and Recharge.

beachbodyproducts

Energize is a pre training drink mix. It contains 200mg of green tea caffeine, so there’s plenty of “zip” provided by the drink. The difference maker though are the beta alanine and the quercitin.

Hydrate is a cleaner version of your normal hydration drink (think gatorade, powerade, etc). Beach Body lowered the sugar and provides Sodium, Potassium, magnesium, calcium, and once again, Quercitin to the mix.

Recover provides 20g of Whey Protein in a great tasting chocolate shake. I’ve been using it both after my workouts and in the mornings for extra calories. The difference maker in Beach Body’s product is Pomegranite extract – purported to aid in faster muscle recovery from intense exercise.

Recharge is intended as a before bedtime protein drink that aids in muscle recovery while you sleep. The has 20g of casein protein along with Tart Cherry Anthocyanins (muscle recovery) and Branched Chain Amino Acids. I have the vanilla flavor.

While I’ve used all 4 products, I would most highly recommend the Energize and the Hydrate products as those provide immediate, noticeable, results. Recover and Recharge are excellent as well.

I love you,

Daddy

***I was given these products for purposes of this review; however, I was under no obligation to provide either the review or a favorable opinion of the products. My opinions are my own.